A Trio Becomes A Quartet, But Where’s The Music?

Sometimes, I write to figure things out, and, sometimes, I have to figure things out before I write.  The latter is what has been happening with this blog since my last post in June. We received the shock of our lives just before July 4th: We’re having another baby! I had been celebrating Independence Day in all of its aspects, especially the new independence of our Trio of kids, and one tiny strip with two little blue lines changed the course of our family in a moment. The irony and miracle is that we needed fertility treatment to get the other three and then I had my tubes tied. Wait. What??!! Yes, I’m the first person in my doctor’s address book to have this happen. I’ve always been a big fan of Serendipity, but She clearly went overboard this time.

My summer writing plans were replaced with throwing up in the kitchen sink, falling asleep at odd times of day, and making plans to borrow back all the baby gear I had just given away. Then came September, which was a momentous time in our house since Big Sister (now the eldest of two Big Sisters) started all-day kindergarten and Mr. and Miss Twin started preschool. I was not at all prepared for how labor intensive kindergarten would be—for me! The kid is doing great, but I’m still trying to catch up with all the forms to be signed, volunteer hours to be given, nickels and dimes to be spent, gym socks and rest towels to be washed, lunches and snacks to be packed, and library books to be read and returned. The learning curve is smoothing out a bit now that we’re two months in, and I hope this means I’ll be a pro next time when I’ll have two kids starting kindergarten at the same time.

So, after finally catching my breath from all that (which is getting harder with an expanding tummy to tote around), I realized that it had been 5 months since I had blogged. Dear readers, thank you for your patience and for your gentle inquiries about whether there would ever be another update. For this one, I figured I’d just tell it like it is. Simon Cowell would call this post indulgent, but motherhood has so little indulgence in it, that maybe all of us are entitled once in a while. I admit I went through a stage of resentment too, and took a page from my toddlers by having a temper tantrum. I had been looking forward to this new era with older, more independent kids as my time to get back to writing and my grownup goals. (We’re almost done with twin potty training, for goodness sake!) Instead, here we go again with sleepless nights, diapers, and (sigh) more potty training. Therefore, I pouted and decided to not write at all. The great thing about you, wonderful readers, is that you keep me accountable and continually remind me that this babe will just give me more stories to write.

In fact, she already is. I knew from the beginning that it was a girl, which was recently confirmed, and it’s serendipitous that my Trio all said from the start that they wanted a sister. Our dear Mr. Twin is going to grow up to be a very sensitive man! Miss Littlest Sister already has a story to tell about her beginning, and I have a feeling she’s going to burst into the world, not come quietly. There’s obviously a reason for her existence and I can’t wait to see what it is, and how she brings change, balance, and adventure to our family. Stay tuned for the ongoing story, but if the wait here becomes too long, then please join me on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/abby.wojahnplambeck?ref=tn_tnmn) for daily updates.

I would love to hear about a time in your life when you thought you had it all figured out and Someone Else changed the plan. How did you cope? Did the change take you down a different path that you otherwise wouldn’t have tried? Is your life more challenging or more meaningful (or both?) because of it?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Back Family
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 13:22:42

    Wow, amazing, thank you for sharing your heart here. My own heart still aches a bit for you when I think about it. But it seems like fourth babies come out knowing their place in the family and I hope your baby isn’t too hard on you. You get to find out what it’s like to have just one baby, since you barely had just one, ever. It’s probably much better than either of us can imagine.

    Reply

    • abbyplambeck
      Nov 15, 2012 @ 14:35:21

      April, thanks for commiserating with me, and for the encouragement. That’s what I keep telling myself: That one has to be easier (and more snuggly) than two! Since you haven’t had the chance to enjoy just one either, you can find out along with me here. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Bethy
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 19:17:03

    Oh I have a story but maybe I am just not healed enough to go there. But you my dear sister-in- heart give me encouragement to move forward. I love you. And Auntie B is excited for little baby Plambeck! For it was she that gave me the final push to take my life back. She reminded me of the word hope. Something that was slipping away. But when I saw her on that sonogram with you that day, It hit me that I had to dramatically change my life and that a away for that hope.

    Reply

    • abbyplambeck
      Nov 15, 2012 @ 14:37:48

      Beth, I’m so glad that you were with me that day. It’ll be one of my lifelong sweet memories. This little one hardly knows how she’s already impacted her world, and I’m glad that you’ve found courage and hope. I love you too!

      Reply

  3. Lynda Olsen
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 20:05:29

    As usual, you can make me sigh, cry and laugh all by just reading your blog. Your stories are amazing and so enjoyable. Your insight into parenting makes it such fun to read. I am so glad you are finding time to write again though I cannot imagine how you do it. Thanks again for sharing and giving your readers a taste of ‘real life with the Plambeck family’.

    Reply

    • abbyplambeck
      Nov 15, 2012 @ 14:41:19

      Lynda, thank YOU for always being among the first to read and comment on my blog! Your comments always encourage and inspire me to keep at it, even when it takes me 5 months to build up the energy. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

